Did you know there’s a time limit on a personal injury claim? Being a victim of a car accident or any other personal injury incident is scary and people often get confused about what to do next. After an accident, people feel blank and even hopeless when confronted with medical bills, car damage repair costs, and more.
But the law is here to help!
Georgia is an at-fault state of the USA, meaning that when a person suffers from a personal injury accident, i.e., a vehicle crash, they can demand compensation from the party at fault. But most people have next to no idea about the claim filing process and how long they have, in the state of Georgia, to file a personal injury claim after an accident.
We, at The Super Lawyer Legal Group, are here to assist you in the hour of distress when you’re facing bodily injuries, car damage, a job crisis, and more. The car accident attorneys in Atlanta at our law firm aim to assist you in resolving post-accidental matters effectively by providing legal advice and help with legal action.
This article covers the fundamental principles of filing a personal injury claim and how injury attorneys in Atlanta can help!
Are Vehicle Accidents Common?
Everywhere one sees, there is a weird rush that one fails to explain. We procrastinate, yet try to get things done at lightning speed at the very last minute. Similar is the case on roads. From reckless driving to incorrect parking, you’ll witness pretty much everything on USA roads. In 2021, 42,915 motor vehicle deaths were reported in the USA. In 2019, there were 12.5 million vehicles involved in crashes. Moving to the more specific data, according to statistics provided by the 2021 Global Traffic Scorecard, Atlanta, the capital city of Georgia, is ranked 10th in traffic trends in the USA.
Why Liability Insurance Is Mandatory For Drivers In Georgia
Auto liability insurance is mandatory in most of the US states whose prime objective is to facilitate the motorists in case of any vehicle wreck, and the same goes for Georgia. Insurance coverage compensates the victims for medical expenditures, property losses, and more. Since Georgia follows the at-fault statute, the liable party will be responsible for covering the losses of the victim. If a person is at fault in a car crash, the insurance company must pay for the economic and non-economic losses in return – at least this is how it should happen. But insurance adjusters are rarely cooperative, and you’ll need legal help from experienced attorneys to negotiate a fair settlement for your losses.
How Much Time Do You Have To File A Personal Injury Claim For A Vehicle Accident In Georgia?
You should try your best to file your claim at the earliest suitable time; delaying your personal injury claim is never a good idea as it will reflect poorly on your case. The time limit is defined by the statute of limitations which is 2 years for personal injury cases in Georgia.
This statute differs for all case types and in all states.
Many states have passed laws regarding this time limit, specifically those states which do not follow a no-fault car insurance system. It is not the same across the states in the USA, it can be as less as one year or may be several years; in Georgia, however, the statute of limitations is 2 years only (from the moment the accident happened). If you delay filing a claim in a court of law beyond this time limit, your case will be automatically rejected.
A Brief Overview Of The Claim Filing Process for a Personal Injury Claim In Georgia
In the event of an accident, your first step should be to collect all essential information at the scene of the accident. You can take pictures of the damage your vehicle, yourself, and any passengers accompanying you have sustained.
Also, try exchanging contracts and insurance information with the other driver. Be sure to call the police as this will help you document the incident and later gain access to the police report. Once you’ve sought medical help and feel able to do so, you should reach out to a lawyer to further the claim filing process.
The file processing is better left to your attorney, who’ll gather all the documented evidence you’ve gathered and then file a claim with the insurance company of the liable party. Your attorney will then present your case before the insurance adjuster and negotiate a settlement based on your losses.
The steps can be summarized as follows:
- Gathering evidence on the accident site
- Exchanging information with the liable party
- Calling the police on the site
- Getting contact information from the witnesses
- Seeking medical help
- Documenting your losses as receipts, bills, invoices, etc.
- Getting your hands on the police report
- Reaching out to a lawyer
- Filing a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company
- Negotiating a settlement with the insurance adjuster
- Getting a settlement/filing a lawsuit
When To Hire A Car Accident Attorney In Atlanta?
If you’ve been injured in an accident due to someone else’s fault, you need to hire a lawyer as soon as possible. Your attorney will be dedicated to helping you win fair compensation as most personal injury attorneys (including ours) work on a contingency fee arrangement, meaning that they’ll only charge you when you’ve won your case.
An attorney will first try to settle the matter between two parties via settlement negotiations with the insurance adjuster representing the at-fault party. Ideally, the at-fault party will accommodate the victim for their medical expenses, property loss, income loss, and other economic and non-economic damages. However, if the negotiations don’t work, your attorney can take matters to the court.
Why Choose Our Injury Attorneys In Atlanta? Get In Touch Now!
The Super Lawyer Legal Group has experienced and seasoned injury attorneys in Atlanta on board who’ve been serving the community for years. Our competent, skilled, and well-experienced car accident attorneys in Atlanta settle cases favorably for our clients and don’t shy away from any possible extent to get maximum compensation for accident victims. Plus, there are no upfront fees as our law firm operates on a contingency fee basis – we’ll only ask for a payment when you’ve won your case.
Get in touch with us now for your legal claim!